Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

Taco Tuesdays

Hey Folks,

yup, it’s me again. I’m going to try once again to get this thing going on a regular basis. It might be easier to have shorter posts, with lots of photos! I’m sure you’d enjoy that, too.

Well, I’ve implemented semi-regular “Taco Tuesdays” at home. Not that I know much about Mexican cuisine at all, but I try different things that end up in tortillas. Tonight, I made chicken carnitas with leftover chicken.

IMG_4630

Here’s the chicken. I fried it in a little oil, added garlic, cinnamon sticks, orange, lemon, and lime wedges, whole dried chilies, chicken stock, canned tomatoes, and various spices (cumin, paprika, chili powder, chipotle). Then I let it simmer for a long time.

IMG_4631

I also grilled some corn on the stove, which was then garnished with chili powder, paprika, and lime sea salt.

IMG_4632

Checking in on the carnitas… The liquid has boiled down and thickened, just the way I wanted it.

IMG_4638

A fresh tomato, cucumber, and red onion salad on the side.

IMG_4636

I toast the tortillas over the stove… and voila!

IMG_4637

IMG_4633

It was very delicious, as you might imagine. This is definitely a meal I’ll make again.

Till soon – hopefully!

Carolynn

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Taco Tuesdays

  1. kathy miriam on said:

    beautiful blog Carolynn. do you think you can substitute fish for your chicken taco recipe?

  2. You could definitely make fish tacos, but it might be better to find a suitable recipe elsewhere. This is really a recipe for braising, which is basically cooking meats for a longer period of time with a lot of liquid (low and slow). This is because the cuts of meats used for braising are “tougher” cuts that take longer to break down and become tender (and not hard and chewy).
    For fish, I would probably sear it, break it apart, and use some kind of tropical fruit salsa instead of the “heavier” flavors you will find in this carnitas recipe. You wouldn’t want to braise fish because it cooks quickly and will become rubbery.

Leave a Reply

