Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

Catering and Banquets: Burritos!!!!

Hello Peeps!

One of my days on the entree station happened to fall on a Saturday, which is the day generally reserved for “Chef’s Choice”. In other words, we all take a trip into the coolers to see what is leftover from the week and needs to be used. 🙂

First, we check for a protein – and find almost nothing except for some ground meat. Burritos it is! I’m excited because I love burritos, and having a “build-your-own” burrito station is something we haven’t done in a while at the cafeteria.

The components of the entree today, then, are the ground meat, tortilla wraps, rice, and accroutements like chopped tomato, shredded cheese, lettuce, and so on.

I start by browning the meat in a large rondeau, and flavoring it with spices such as cumin, paprika, chipotle, salt, and pepper.

Here’s the meat browning. I add some tomato paste for color and more flavor.

While preparing and collecting all the ingredients, I come across this contraption:

And I also find some corn tortillas in the walk-in cooler. You know what this means! Yup, I’m going to deep-fry tacos for the first time.

You line the slots with tortillas and put the v-shaped parts on top – that way, the tortillas keep their form while frying. The contraption holds eight tortillas, so I have to make a couple of batches.

Here’s what they look like once they come out of the deep-fryer. I salt them, and put them on a paper towel which will soak up at least some of the oil.

The set-up in the dining hall is banquet-style: we set up chafing dishes with food in them and heating elements to keep the food warm.

Here are the flour tortilla wraps, the taco shells, and the ground beef.

The rice, pico de gallo, and tortilla chips.

And the rest of the accoutrements. Yum!

Needless to say, a complete success. I am more and more amazed at my capability to feed more than 50 people at a time. I did all this myself – unbelievable!

~ Carolynn

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

