Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

More German Food

Hey Folks,

it’s been almost one week since my arrival in Germany. So far I’ve been eating all the things I can’t get in the U.S.

Me holding a Turkish speciality - doner kebab.

The doner kebab is something you can find on every street corner in Germany. It’s kind of like the hot dog in the U.S. It’s a pita bread full of shaved meat, lettuce, onions, yoghurt sauce, cabbage, and other vegetables (and sometimes feta). Germany has many  Turkish immigrants who often have small fruit and vegetable stands, and also a lot of these kebab stands. I REALLY enjoyed my kebab (as you can see in the photo).

In that photo, you can also see the flowers… yes, it’s been warm here all week, and that’s not such a bad thing after Germany experienced a very cold winter. On a walk on one of the warm days, my mother and I saw lots of wildlife! Three hares (really big ones!), at least three grey herons, five turtles in the sun, three different birds of prey, and various other birds. We walked down to a biotope at the river. A biotope is basically a protected area of nature.

Graureiher - Grey Heron

View of the biotope.

Three little turtles sitting on a tree trunk in the sun.

Hare on the run.

Yesterday was St. Patrick’s Day. A friend and I went to an Irish pub. It’s kind of funny to have an Irish pub in Germany, but sure, why not? The menu is a mix of typical food you would find in a U.S. Irish pub and food you would find in a German cafe/bistro. You can order a hamburger or cheeseburger, but they only come well done (more on that later).

St. Patrick's Day in Germany.

There were also U.S.-style cocktails.

Blue Hawaii - yum!

There were lots of people at the pub – probably regular patrons, since many Germans don’t know about St. Patrick’s Day.

In a different cafe, my friend had a snack.

Typical afternoon snack: wheat beer (with banana) and Flammenkuchen (tarte flambee).

Flammenkuchen is the German equivalent to the French (Alsacian) flamenkuche, or tarte flambee. It’s a very thin crust with creme fraiche, onion, and bacon bits. My friend is also drinking a Bananenweizen, which is wheat beer mixed with banana nectar.

And, finally, today my family went to a restaurant/hotel that serves traditional Swabian food (Swabia is a region in the Southwestern part of Germany) and I had my favorite – Zwiebelrostbraten.

Rostbraten mit Spaetzle - German beef with caramelized onions and spaetzle.

It’s a piece of beef, very thin, pan-fried and served with spaetzle and some pan-gravy.  Plus, mounds of caramelized onion on top. There was also a small salad. They ask you how you want your ‘steak’ cooked. You can basically say medium or well. But really, it’s kind of a joke because the piece of meat is so thin you can barely see the pink at all when you get it medium. Ah, different cultures. The rostbraten was good, but somehow it didn’t give me that magical feeling it used to. Perhaps it’s lost its charm and I can move on. That’s okay, too.

I have one week left on my trip. I’m still going to eat at my favorite Italian restaurant. It makes the best pizza dough ever. Also, I might be making a Swabian speciality with my grandmother. After that, it’s back to Vermont, and back to school!

Can’t wait!

~ Carolynn

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

