Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

One year later…

Hey Peeps,

it’s been almost one year since I decided to go to culinary school, move to Vermont, and change my whole life! In the next few posts, I’d like to review the past year, the ups and downs, school, work, and life in general.

I’m currently in Germany visiting my family, and of course want to share some food photos with you!

Vesper

The “Vesper”, as it’s called, is eaten in the evening. Here you can see Italian salami (roped together), a piece of Schickenspeck (smoked ham), parmesan cheese, and a Laugenweckle. ‘Laugenweckle’ is basically a bun made from pretzel dough. It’s my favorite bun!

Kaeselaugenweckle - Laugenweckle with cheese.

This is the same kind of bun topped with cheese. Maybe this is my favorite? It’s all so good.

I’ve also been eating a winter lettuce called “Ackersalat”, or in English: ‘corn salad‘, ‘lamb’s lettuce’, or ‘field salad’. This lettuce is not available in Northern America. It’s popular in Germany during winter, as it is a winter green plant.

Ackersalat

For lunch today I made a chickpea stew from this recipe on epicurious.com.

Yum!

~ Carolynn

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “One year later…

  1. Sounds like you’ve had an exciting year! I’ve heard that Vermont is beautiful, hope some day I get to go.

    p.s. Oh that cheese-topped bun looks delicious!

  2. Thanks so much for your lovely comment. I’ve just begun talking about my past year… I’m hoping to be able to process things that happened, and then have a positive outlook for my next year in culinary school.

  3. kmiriam on said:

    can’t wait to try the chick pea stew. The buns do look scrumptious but beyond my dietary rules (not that I don’t break them when it comes to baked goods!)

Leave a Reply

