Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

Vermont-based Food Companies

Hey Peeps!

Since my travel plans to Montreal are being foiled by an impending snow storm tomorrow (and I’m kind of chicken to go on my own), I decided to revisit my goal of taking factory tours of Vermont-based food companies.

Check out this page on Wikipedia that lists Vermont-based companies. Although I’m not quite sure how they define “company”. Perhaps they only list companies of a certain size (either by employee or revenue), or that cover more than just the state of Vermont (i.e. national companies).

In any case, I have already visited several, including:

King Arthur Flour, located in Norwich, VT;

Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream, located in Waterbury, VT (I pass the factory every day on my way to work!);

Cabot Creamery, located in Cabot, VT (only 20 minutes from where I live);

Green Mountain Coffee, located in Waterbury, VT (I smell the coffee being roasted every day on my way to work!).

I still need to visit:

Lake Champlain Chocolates, located in Burlington, VT (a good candidate for tomorrow!);

Bruegger’s Bagels, corporate based in Vermont, but I’m not sure they have factory tours;

Grafton Village Cheese Company, based in Brattleboro, VT (and many other artisan cheesemakers);

Rhino Foods, located in Burlington, VT;

Westminster Crackers, located in Rutland, VT (famous for oyster crackers that go on clam chowder!);

and many other wineries and breweries based in Vermont.

I’ll keep you updated on my progress!!!

~ Carolynn

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

