Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

Yeast is my nemesis.

I try so hard, and yet it seems impossible for me to produce adequate yeast doughs. I try to make bread, and I fail. I try to make cinnamon buns, and I fail. Yeast is not my friend.

Today, I tried to make pizza. The dough was frozen, and I let it thaw, put nice tomato sauce on it, and lots of mozzarella. I was so excited about it, because I love pizza. I even have a baking stone. I baked it, and after a while, checked in. The cheese was burning, and yet the dough was not fully cooked. Ugh. So disappointing. Earlier, I was roasting peanuts, and I burnt those, too. Maybe it just wasn’t a good day for cooking.

In our baking class, all we learned was the most basic kind of sandwich bread. What I’m really interested in learning is how to make artisan bread, nice pizza crust, and fluffy sweet yeast doughs. Perhaps I will some day!

In other news, I’ve been sick for a week now. I was in Maine when it happened: sore throat, pain when swallowing, congestion. The pain has subsided a bit, but I’m still congested, and there’s always a little tickle in my throat that makes me cough. Another annoyance factor. I plan on having ice cream later on to make up for all these negative things.

You haven’t seen any photos recently because my camera stopped working while I was in Maine (some trip, right?). I’m looking for another one at the moment, but until then, you’ll have to be patient!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

