Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

Work is hard.

Dear Friends,

here are more photos from my adventures at work in the culinary world, and also in Vermont. Did I mention it snowed last night? The roads were a little slippery on my way home last night, but this morning, all was clear.

Tonight was a rough night for me at work. Everything rubbed me the wrong way, and I was pretty much in a fowl mood all night long. Some of my co-workers thought I did a good job, but it really didn’t feel like it to me.

I was doing fine making salads and desserts, and then all of a sudden I got a ticket with six different ice creams, and everything broke down. The problem with the ice cream is that the freezer is too cold, so the ice cream is too hard to scoop. I periodically take it out to soften it up. And all the scoopers at work are broken or weird, so scooping is quite the task. When a ticket with lots of ice cream comes in, it usually takes me a while to get it done.

Anyway, my co-workers helped me out, but I never really recovered from the frazzle. Sigh. It’s not the first time I’ve wanted to cry at work, and it probably won’t be the last.

I’ve collected some photos from recent specials we ran. You’ll see the ravioli I made. Also, photos from the mountain at work, where there is now snow thanks to both snow blowers and Mother Nature.lkkkp[[df[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[h]]]gbv [greetings from Purl, who just walked over the keyboard]

Preparations for Thanksgiving are in full gear. I got to break down turkeys last night, and two nights ago, I roasted pumpkins seeds. My co-worker made pumpkin soup from some pumpkins that were roasted a bit too long. Another co-worker made fried oysters. We have oysters in the house because they will be in the in stuffing. Yum! Tomorrow is a big day, and I’m looking forward to it. Here’s the menu, if you want to take look at what we’ll be serving.

Happy Thanksgiving to all. I will be at work, sneaking bits of turkey during service.

~ Carolynn

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

