Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

The Freshman 45

Dear Friends,

not all of you might now what the title of this post means, especially my German friends. In the US, there is this thing called the “freshman 15”, which refers to the weight gain of young people in their first year of college. This is probably due to the fact that they now eat in cafeterias for all three meals, where there is generally a lot of food available.

Well, I am in my first year of culinary school, and I have gained a lot of weight. It started before I came here, but nevertheless, being constantly surrounded by food, it is really hard to resist snacking, tasting, and eating all the time. Plus, I try things out at home, so I get to eat my mistakes, etc.

Right now, I am about 30-40 lbs overweight, which is the most I’ve weighed in my entire life. My clothes don’t fit my anymore, and I feel fat and sluggish. I am disappointed in myself, but am mostly at a loss as to how to fix the situation. I need to lose weight, but I know it’s going to be very hard to achieve since I now work around food.

Exercise? There is very little exercise in my life. The most I can do is a short walk sometimes. Other than that, I did sign up for a pilates course once a week, which I am looking forward to. Overall, not much exercise. I don’t see that changing anytime soon, either.

So I need to reduce the amount of calories I eat. My plan is to eat very small portions, since throughout my day, I generally taste things to make sure they are fresh, or because someone has cooked something that needs tasting. I can count on the fact that I will get enough calories.

But it’s very hard to be disciplined, so wish me luck. I will need it.

To a slimmer future!

~ Carolynn

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Freshman 45

  1. Quinn Slater (@quinnslater) on said:

    Good luck! I hurt my knee some months back, and am trying to work toward losing weight, as well. Maybe we could help to motivate one another? XOXO – Quinn

  2. Miss Von Mar on said:

    good luck. Now that I am in school I sit all day doing hw and it’s hard to move around much.. Annoying!

  3. I feel your pain. I put on about 15 while at school and none of my classmates seemed to have an issue meaning I had no one to suffer with. It haunted me while I was there and I thought about it every time we sat down to our 3 course lunches. The thing that saved me after graduation was workout videos, and I wish I had bothered with them while at school (though time was an issue). Getting away from the couch and the line and spending 30 minutes a day with a Jillian Michaels video gives me back some control.

  4. Carolynn 2.0 on said:

    Thanks for your encouraging comments, everyone! I am going to start by not eating as much, since I know I will have to do tasting at work. Exercise will come a bit later, I think. I’ll start slowly so I don’t get discouraged!

Leave a Reply

