Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

The Internship Begins!!!

This is where I work.

Hey Folks!

Soooooo, I’m in the internship phase of my education, which means I’m working for real in a real kitchen with real wages. I’m so happy that I’m actually going to be earning money again. Plus, I’ll probably be working a lot of overtime during the holiday season, so that means even more money.

Hmmmm…. I sound kind of shallow. But really, it’s been a while since I earned some money since I’m a full-time student again. It’s nice to have an income.

My favorite view on my way to work.

Lovely trees!

View from the parking lot. This is why everyone comes to Vermont in the fall!

It takes me an hour to commute to the hotel, which for now is okay, and gives me a lot of time to listen to podcasts and audio books. I’m a little nervous about the commute in the winter, but we’ll see what happens.

I’m working on the pm line, afternoons and evenings. I start at 3 pm, and work until closing, which is around 11 pm. I have, of course, already worked overtime, so occasionally I do go in earlier.

The line.

We have an open kitchen, so guests in the restaurant can watch us work.

Here are some of the dishes I’ve learned to prepare. I am training on the garde manger station, also known as the pantry station. Basically, I make the dishes that do not require any cooking. I make various salads, and also desserts.

The enormous salad spinner holds SO MUCH lettuce.

The amazing salad spinner in bright blue!

Farmer's salad.

The farmer’s salad has a really yummy lemon yoghurt dressing that is smeared on the bottom of the plate. Well, maybe smeared isn’t the right word. It doesn’t sound very appetizing.

Scallop crudo.

Scallop crudo. With olive oil, red sea salt, micro cilantro, pickled garlic, and rhubarb granite.

A granite is kind of like frozen juice. And the scallops are raw. I didn’t think I would ever eat raw scallops, but I did try it, and it’s super yummy!

Olive trio.

Butternut squash salad.

The butternut squash salad is great, too. The chunks of squash are warmed in the oven, and the greens are tossed with pumpkin seeds and parmesan in a sherry vinaigrette.

My mise en place. There are various olives, nuts, and salts and pepper.

Pickled vegetables, watermelon, goat cheese feta, and more stuffs.

There is also a side salad I make that goes over grilled chicken: it has watermelon, salt, olive oil, and goat cheese feta. It sounds weird, but it’s pretty amazing.

I also make the cheese and charcuterie plates.

Charcuterie plate: pepperoni, lamb sausage, chicken liver pate, duck prosciutto, and lamb pancetta.

Also on the charcuterie plate: cherry mustard and pickled vegetables.

But my favorite to make is the beet salad.

Beet caramel.

Add beets, sanded hazelnuts, and goat cheese quenelles.

Add arugula, and you've got a beet salad!

Here are some desserts:

Pumpkin cheese cake, caramel swirl, and cinnamon whipped cream.

Mini cupcake trio. With sprinkles.

Good night! Sweet dreams!

~ Carolynn

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

