Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

Road Trip!

Hey Folks!

I’m still exploring Vermont. At this time of year, Vermont is very colorful. The trees are turning beautiful fall colors, including reds, oranges, and yellows in all shades you can imagine. Sometimes there are patches of trees that are just orange tones, and sometimes a hillside is decorating with splotches of red, orange and yellow, interspersed with green pines.

I decided to visit King Arthur Flour today. They have a bakery, store, and educational facility in Norwich, Vermont. It’s about an hour away, and it’s my day off, so why not explore my new home state? By the way, NECI uses King Arthur Flour, and if you live in the U.S., you’ve probably seen it in your local grocery store.

I drove through rural Vermont for a part of my trip, and witnessed so many scenic views. It truly is a beautiful state. I saw so many cute animals, including many cows, horses, chicken, goats, geese, and even two moose! I can’t believe two moose stepped right in front of my car in the road on my way home! I got photos, although my sucky camera makes sucky photos. (Sorry about that. Once I feel like I can afford it, I’ll invest in a better camera for my blog photos.) Of course, as a result of living in a rural area, I get the beauty of nature (and animals), but sacrifice being able walk places, the convenience of big box stores (not that I endorse big box stores), access to cultural events, or getting anywhere within one hour. Okay, I’m exaggerating a little bit. Plus, I love being close to nature and experiencing the change of seasons.

I got to the bakery and store, and one of the employees was kind enough to take me on a tour of the bakery itself, and then back to the store/cafe. In the beginning of the company’s history, it imported high-quality flours from Europe. It was based in Boston, MA. Now, the company gets its flour from the Midwest, where it is produced under specific guidelines to ensure the quality of the flour. The company is focused on sustainability, and is completely employee-owned. So yeah, there are some good things going on here.

Visiting the store, it reminded me a lot of Stonewall Kitchen. There were baking mixes, various flours, cocoa powder, baking ingredients, some kitchen equipment. It really inspired me to want to make really good bread for myself. I recently purchased a baking stone for my oven, and I want to get a good pizza dough recipe, and an awesome bread recipe. Well, to be honest, those are among my goals for a perfect Carolynn. We’ll see what happens.

I had a bite to eat at the cafe (ciabatta roll, asiago roll, and multi-grain roll with smoked salmon spread), and then got a mocha for my ride back home. They make it with cocoa powder, which is the only way I’ll drink it. I’m a total mocha snob, it’s true. 🙂 Turns out the mocha was pretty good. Yay!

I had an awesome day off. Now, I need to clean up my apartment and prepare for work tomorrow.

~ Carolynn

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Road Trip!

  1. Glad you came by to see us, Carolynn! Thanks for sharing with your readers. We have lots of great recipes (http://www.kingarthurflour.com/shop/RecipeHome), so I’m sure we can help you out with the pizza and bread – and give the folks on our Baking Hotline (http://www.kingarthurflour.com/contact/the-bakers-hotline.html) a call if you need some advice!

    Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

