Culinary Sense

Adventures with Food and Life

The Adventures of Carolynn and Purl

Hey Folks!

Soooooo, it’s been a long weekend. Friday evening, Purl didn’t come home. Which scared me a little because she is usually home by the time I go to bed. It didn’t help that Saturday was the first day at my internship, and I was already nervous about that.

The next morning, she still hadn’t returned. This was highly unusual. I called PetWatch24, which is the company that made Purl’s microchip, and told them she was missing. I started making posters, and strew some of her litter around the house, and along the street where I live. I walked around, calling her name. And suddenly, I heard her.

She was meowing loudly and frantically from across a field, so I followed her calling, running across the field, and into a wooded area. I found Purl stuck up high in a tree. But she just wouldn’t come down. No matter how much I coaxed her.

I called the police, and they told me to put a dish of food at the bottom of the tree. “I’ve never heard of a cat starving in a tree,” the policeman said. “She got up there, so she’ll come back down.” These were not very reassuring words, but some rational part of my brain agreed.

At this point, I should have already left for my first day at work. I called the chef and left a message, telling him that I would be late since I had an emergency with my cat. But now that I knew where Purl was, I felt a little bit better about leaving for work. I was like in daze for the entire drive, feeling out of it and light headed with anxiety. But I eventually made it there, and jumped right into my first day!

When I returned, Purl still wasn’t back. I had left a window open in case she found her way back. I was so disappointed. I took my flashlight and more litter, and found Purl in the dark, still up in the tree. At this point, I was so exhausted from a long day at work, and felt so distraught. I simply didn’t know what to do. I didn’t have a ladder, and all the help I had requested basically told me to wait it out, that she would come down.

It was about 1 am, and I needed to rest. So I went to bed, leaving the front door open in case Purl came down. I felt so bad for her. This was her second night stuck in a tree. It had been raining on and off since she was there, and it was pretty cold. At 6:30 in the morning, I woke up to go to the bathroom, and she still wasn’t home. I started thinking about who to call to get a ladder, and what I was going to do about getting Purl down from the tree.

I went back upstairs to bed, and after a few minutes, I heard Purl meow downstairs. I ran down the stairs to greet her, and we were both so happy to see each other. I fed her lots of food, and she then joined me upstairs in bed. I was so relieved.

So in the end, everything worked out. But it was a pretty scary, upsetting weekend. Lots of crying, lots of suffering. But we’re okay now.

~ Carolynn

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

